FIFA World Cup-winning managers: 1930 to 2018

Some of the biggest names in football history have led their teams to World Cup glory.

The World Cup is a tournament where legends are made.

Pele. Diego Maradona. Ronaldo. These are some of the names synonymous with excellence at the highest levels of the game, helped in large part by their exploits at the World Cup.

But it’s not just players who take on a bigger stature after succeeding in the planet’s largest single-sport event. Managers have also assumed legendary status for leading their respective teams to glory on the biggest stage. The likes of Franz Beckenbauer, Marcello Lippi, Alf Ramsey, and Mario Zagallo all saw their already heightened reputations as ex-players climb to new heights as managers of World Cup-winning squads. Some managers, like Luis Felipe Scolari, weren’t well known from their playing days but catapulted their coaching careers thanks to World Cup success.

Here’s a complete list of World Cup-winning managers from every tournament so far.

FIFA World Cup winning managers: 1930 to 2018

  • 1930: Alberto Suppici, Uruguay
  • 1934: Vittorio Pozzo, Italy
  • 1938: Vittorio Pozzo, Italy
  • 1950: Juan López, Uruguay
  • 1954: Sepp Herberger, West Germany
  • 1958: Vicente Feola, Brazil
  • 1962: Aymoré Moreira, Brazil
  • 1966: Alf Ramsey, England
  • 1970: Mário Zagallo, Brazil
  • 1974: Helmut Schön, West Germany
  • 1978: César Luis Menotti, Argentina
  • 1982: Enzo Bearzot, Italy
  • 1986: Carlos Bilardo, Argentina
  • 1990: Franz Beckenbauer, West Germany
  • 1994: Carlos Alberto Parreira, Brazil
  • 1998: Aimé Jacquet, France
  • 2002: Luiz Felipe Scolari, Brazil
  • 2006: Marcello Lippi, Italy
  • 2010: Vicente del Bosque, Spain
  • 2014: Joachim Löw, Germany
  • 2018: Didier Deschamps, France

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.